Geography Of Nigeria: A Focus On Its Bordering Counties

Nigeria has a powerful and eventful history. It is officially the Federal Republic of Nigeria, located in West Africa. Nigeria is divided into 36 federal states, with Abuja being the federal capital. It is bordered to the north by Niger, to the east by Chad and Cameroon, to the south by the Gulf of Guinea of the Atlantic Ocean, and to the west by Benin.

It is the most populous African nation, with a population of over 220 million. Nigeria is a multi-ethnic society consisting of various indigenous tribes, as well as a large population of expatriates from around the globe. Nigeria is a great blend of cultural heritage, with its diverse heritage evident in the many languages, fashion, literature, music, cuisine, and religions practiced in the country.

Nigeria’s history is linked to the emergence of a great kingdom of the Yoruba people, known as Oyo, located in the southern region of the country. It expanded to include much of the surrounding area, and the Empire of Benin, which has a powerful history in its own right. In addition to the various pre-colonial states, Nigeria was a part of the great British Empire, with colonization starting in 1861.

The mother country played a significant role in the shaping of the entire region, and its influence led to the formation of the modern Nigerian state. Various movements of secession followed, such as the Biafra secession movement in 1967, although it was eventually defeated. In the years since, various system of governments have gained or lost power, and Nigeria remains an important nation in the region and in the world alike.